Out at Last

November 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

Disabled Parking OnlyIt’s a beautiful day, and here I am in the parking lot of this church in Bethesda, Maryland. Normally at this time on a Saturday, I’m wheeling myself around my apartment building. There’s mail to collect, neighbors to greet, laundry to fold. Every once in a while, like today, I ditch the routine. Rachel Goldberg mentioned a couple of days ago this Norwegian festival that’s taking place today near downtown Bethesda. So I agreed to go. Only one condition: I drive, which is something I need to do more often.

I’m typing this as Rachel chats on the phone with her married lover. God, the woman needs an injection of common sense, or whatever the hell the Norwegians sell here. Maybe as part of an open face sandwich combo.

“Come on over if you can escape,” says¬†Rachel, winking at her reflection in the windshield.

I can hear the smeared voice on the other end. Despite the sun, Rachel’s face clouds like wax paper as she abruptly says goodbye. She’s putting the phone back into her patent leather purse, so I better go. More about the festival later.

Maxence

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Out at Last at The Princess of Pooks Hill.

meta

