Because I am a princess after all

November 26, 2012 § Leave a comment

Fairy PrincessI kind of feel shy about putting myself out there, as I’m not used to being in the spotlight. After all, I run an import/export business right in my apartment, and I haven’t written for pleasure since I was in college. But I have the time right now. Business is down, what with those online wholesale sites that claim they can get you the choicest merchandise at rock-bottom prices. That’s bull. No website can possibly give you the kind of personal service that an experienced pro like myself can. And they miss the details that I never would. I even had one neighbor, who owns one of those chi-chi boutiques in Georgetown, tell me that she had ordered what she thought was a shipment of vintage cocktail dresses from France, only to find “made in China” labels sewn in every single one of them. Never would have happened with me. But I digress.

Maybe I should start calling myself the Princess of Pooks Hill. Dad did call me princess, until he died when I was twenty-five. I’ve been on my own for the last year, ever since Mom passed away. I live in the Pooks Hill Keep, a luxury community on Pooks Hill Road in Bethesda, Maryland. I’ve been living here since I graduated from college, ever since the car accident that put me in a wheelchair and compelled me to live with my parents. Dad sold one of his properties and bought us a penthouse apartment in the north tower, with an achingly beautiful view of the sunrise and the swimming pool. He moved the business into the third bedroom, and I became his partner.

It’s clear that I can handle logistics and being called “Your Highness.” If only someone would…

Maxence

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Because I am a princess after all at The Princess of Pooks Hill.

meta

